Home‎ > ‎News & Results‎ > ‎

Team Gillum Wins Midwinters West

posted Feb 3, 2015, 7:35 PM by Thistle Class   [ updated Feb 3, 2015, 8:50 PM by Unknown user ]
The 2015 Thistle MIDWINTERS WEST CHAMPIONSHIP was held at the Mission Bay Yacht Club on January 29 to January 31.  Mike Gillum, with wife Mardi, and daughter Alison as crew, dominated the 11 boat Championship Division.  There were 8 races sailed over the three days, which were mostly in light air on Mission Bay.  The breeze finally picked up for the final 4 races on Saturday. The Gillum team finished with a solid 10.5 point lead over the second place boat of David Rumbaugh, Steve Fishman and Kiersten Vance.

The President's Division was won by Grant Gridley, with crew John Gridley and Oscar Barney, who had a 5 point margin of victory over last year's Thistle Class President, Wayne Balsiger, who won the second place tie breaker over another former Thistle Class President, Dave Keran.

Full scores:

Championshipback to top


11010Mike GillumMardi Gillum Alison Gillum1.5122312113.5
23904David RumbaughSteve Fishman Ryan Anderson1431236323
34009Eric HeimNate Prather Diana Waterbury3647121226
43852Chris GedroseMoni Lampe Cesar Romero4513547534
54011Dave SextonCarolym Church Caitie Brysen21164753644
63410Mike PoltorakKory Smith2.528546812 ocs47.5
7420Scott DalinJillian Moritz Evan Charles3.53106974850.5
83993Kevin ArrowKevin Bradley Cody McCoun.5951088512 ocs57.5
92786Guy HeatonRon Meyer Cameron Meyer5871161110462
103924James MurphyMax Godsil Sean Murphy4.579911912 dsq970.5
111021Hans WilliamsBen Mercer Aisha Steger5.51011810109770.5


Presidentback to top


13793Grant GridleyJohn Gridley Oscar Barney2421525425
23664Wayne BalsigerDaryl Mondor Monica Houston41016161130
33685David KeranDoug Iwahashi Janette Zeman9334243230
44001Bob LarzelereAlycia Sanders John Duckworth11177314842
5376Dan ClarkMichelle Lu Amanda Baker7193836542
63682Graham VaughanDoug Stumberger Liesl55102657343
71075Alex DailyJamie Wai Steve Layland82691198760
83816Will SheckKier Rothne Eva39811410101166
94010Mike ArrowSteven Hale Bruce6611591112969
103521Jason RzihaDan Perrine Pam Neff11848121211672
113960Brian BaumanRebecca Bauman Karl Hostecki13 dnc751010891274
123979Mike Gilliam 1013 dnc13 dnc13 dnc7721075